Life Theology

Awe and Wonder

20131127-092942.jpg

Above is an image made by Globaïa’s Félix Pharand-Deschênes. It is a visualisation of planet earth alongside all the air and water on it’s surface.

Stop. Look at it for a second. True, when we look at the ocean it is filled with such an abundance of water that we cannot realistically visualise it’s entirety in our minds. However, viewed like this we see that the seas, the atmosphere above the seas are spread so thinly on the surface of the earth.

This is not an environmentalist piece.

Paul Tripp, in his book Dangerous Calling, says that one of the greatest pitfalls for those in pastoral ministry is familiarity. That, in living so close to the gospel, God, theology and ministry, pastors often miss the trees let alone the forests. That pastors lose their awe of God and the grace he affords us.

I would go a step further and say that this is not a danger only for those in ministry but all of christendom. We all forget God, we all walk through life awe-less.

I am a scientist by training. It is in contemplating the wonders of the world that I am most awed by God. I look at this picture and I do not see how little water and air their is. I do not think, ‘we had better take care of this.’

I look at this and think. How amazing our God that with so little he coats the earth with so much life. From the tiniest microorganisms to the largest whales and forests. In all my ‘wisdom’ and machinations I could not come close to the wonder that God has done. I marvel at passages like Job 38-41 in which God boasts of his marvellous works.

Before I even get to Christ, before I read grace already I am awed.

My challenge to you reader is to get in deep into some aspect of nature, contemplate it’s complexity (or it’s simplicity!) and marvel at the God who created it.

The earth is the Lord’s and the fullness thereof, the world and those who dwell therein, for he has founded it upon the seas and established it upon the rivers. -Psalm 24:1-2

Standard

Leave a Reply

